International Association of Geomagnetism and Aeronomy (IAGA)

At the First IUGG General Assembly (Rome, 1922), the Section de Magnétisme et Electricité Terrestres became one of the constituent sections of the Union. At the IV IUGG General Assembly (Stockholm, 1930), it became the International Association of Terrestrial Magnetism and Electricity. It took its present name at the X IUGG General Assembly (Rome, 1954).

IAGA welcomes scientists to join in research of magnetism and Aeronomy of the Earth, of other bodies of the solar system, and of the interplanetary medium and its interaction with these bodies. IAGA sponsors workshops, symposia, and research efforts through INTERMAGNET to modernize and standardize global observations of the Earth's magnetic field. IAGA is subdivided into the following Divisions and Commissions with working groups on subjects of interest.

Division I: Internal Magnetic Fields
Division II: Aeronomic Phenonema
Division III: Magnetospheric Phenonema
Division IV: Solar Wind and Interplanetary Field
Division V: Geomagnetic Observatories, Surveys and Analyses
Division VI: Electromagnetic Induction in the Earth and Planetary Bodies
Interdivisional Commission on Developing Countries
Interdivisional Commission on History
Interdivisional Commission on Education and Outreach
Interdivisional Commission on Space Weather
Joint Interassociation Working Groups

Contact Information

Monika KORTE, IAGA Secretary General

Helmholtz Centre Potsdam
GFZ German Research Centre for Geosciences
14473 Potsdam

IAGA website: