About IAGA

IAGA, the International Association of Geomagnetism and Aeronomy (AIGA - Association Internationale de Géomagnétisme et d’Aéronomie) is one of the eight Associations of the International Union of Geodesy and Geophysics (IUGG). It is a non-governmental body funded through the subscriptions paid to IUGG by its Member Countries. IAGA has a long history and can trace its origins to the Commission for Terrestrial Magnetism and Atmospheric Electricity, part of the International Meteorological Organisation which was established in 1873.

IAGA is concerned with the understanding and knowledge that result from studies of the magnetic and electrical properties of:

  • the Earth's core, mantle and crust
  • the middle and upper atmosphere
  • the ionosphere and the magnetosphere
  • the Sun, the solar wind, the planets and interplanetary bodies

IAGA encourages free exchange of scientific information, facilitates international collaboration in research and, through the Scientific Assemblies it organises and the meetings and workshops it sponsors, provides opportunities for discussion and publication of the research results.

IAGA is committed to enabling the involvement of young scientists and scientists in developing countries in the Association's activities.

IAGA serves scientists and decision-makers in research establishments, government agencies, intergovernmental bodies, universities and private enterprise.

IAGA invites scientists throughout the world to participate in the Association's activities; there are no membership formalities or fees.


  • Three IAGA representatives were nominated for the IUGG Commission on Planetary Sciences:
    Michael Purucker (NASA, USA)
    Catherine Johnson (University of British Columbia, Canada)
    Binod Sreenivasan (Indian Institute of Science, India)

  • New IAGA Division established
    A new Division VI on Electromagnetic Induction was established in June 2015

  • Congratulations to the 2015 IAGA Awardees!
    Shen Kuo Award:
    D. Baker
    Long Service Award:
    H-J. Linthe and J.Riddick
    Young Scientist Award:
    E. Dawkins, R. Thiéblemont, I. Silber and M. Mendakiewicz.

Last updated: 30-Sep-08